Sunday, February 23, 2014

A new store called "Frazier Farms Market"

Went to a job fair this week, my third this year. And it was for this new health food store called “Frazier Farms Market”. It is opening near my house about 10 minutes away near one of our local IHOP’s so I have been in that area before. Not bad drive. I guess they have one in Vista this one is new to our area and new period I haven’t hear d of them before.

Don’t get me wrong I like health food and healthy stuff sometimes. I love Trader Joe’s, Fresh n Easy and Sprouts. So this was similar to all those (when I compared it to Sprouts the guy interviewing me agreed it like that).

The job fair was advertised on craigslist.com where I seem to find all my JF’s this year. It started at 9am and went till 3pm. It was going on like this for 2 days. Now compared to my last two JF’s. Goodwill there was like ONE person there. At the VONS which wasn’t for a new store but just a job fair there were about 10 people in front of me. SO I had no idea what to expect arriving at this job fair.

I got there at like 10:40am and there was this HUGE line. The whole thing outside the new store. In front of me was no joke about 20-25 people possibly more. It was hard to tell as some people had people waiting with them but not applying. I stood with my resume in hand, my proof I applied online copy of app all set for my interview. But it took forever. The sun burning down on us. Now its Winter here but the sun was still out it was a clear day so this was full sun. Even in the 60’s it was hot. I was outside waiting in this line for over an hour. I am still sure I got a bit burnt but mostly just hot.

Finally it was my time to go up there. And sit in the shade! The guy who interviewed me was nice enough. It was about a ten minute interview longer than my VONS one but not long as my Goodwill one (plus I talked to 2 people that day not 1). I am unsure how the interview went. Because it went good enough I think he liked me. But there is a downside to this one.

Here it is almost end of February but this store wont open till JUNE. Yes JUNE. As in 4 months away! Plus they wont be doing call backs till May. I am in shock. I thanked him and didn’t show my disappointment. But honest to God I need a job by April if not sooner.

I don’t know what will happen between now and May. But I know this probably isn’t the right job for me. I was all set for it to be. They were taking people full time. With benefits little things I only try dream of but never get at a job. Plus I seem to jinx ever getting a job at a new store. I only did it one time and well that turned into its own disaster. So we shall see but I am not that hopeful. They might even call but by then I would be with someone else (God willing).

Sunday, February 9, 2014

Kind of a thrift store and stuff...Goodwill

Goodwill is more than a store they are a place to get work from. We learned this back in TN when we tried to use their career center for jobs before finding them on our own.

Had my first real store interview two weeks back. I can now say it didn’t work out but I am not that shocked. The day wasn’t fun. We drove 30 min there got lost on the way. It was for a bookstore a new concept I have never heard of but sounded fun. I love bookstores and have plenty of experience. Well after we drove down there. I had two interviews.

The second one was with the manager. The thing is they both acted funny that all my past few jobs were seasonal (never a good sign). Plus that I haven’t worked in a while which is sad for them to look down on that since they help out people. But they never called me. I figured all that work and it was a bad day all in all that I didn’t even bother to check back. It was just meant to be.

I did apply to the store by us so who knows if that will turn into something. I wouldn’t mind a job with them mind you and if they had called I would have taken it. But it didn’t happen. Sadly.